Summer Morning Skincare Routine

Lets talk skincare!!! Summer is here and so here is my go to summer morning skincare routine. I have already talked about my go to morning face cleanser/scrub (Clinique 7 day cream scrub). So once my face is all clean I immediately like to hydrate it.  Start with the lightest product: Serum -> moisturizer/primer -> Sunscreen.

Summer Skincare

Step 1: Serum

I start by using a serum. Currently I am using Lancome Advanced Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate. I wanted to try this and so I got it as a 100point reward at Sephora.

The Claim

“This innovative formula featuring Génifique’s powerful complex with added biotechnology-derived ingredient is incredible to the touch, and acts on 10 key signs of youth including texture, resiliency, elasticity, firmness, sagginess, fine lines, wrinkles, radiance, clarity, and skintone”

My Experience

I got drawn into this product after reading the product claims(who wouldn’t right). It feels so soft on the skin. But as far as results are concerned I don’t think it is for me. Probably because from the description it mostly tackles signs of aging, which I don’t have very many yet. I don’t see any difference in my skin when I use this product as compared to when I don’t. The 1.69oz bottle retails for 129$ in Canada and for me it’s not worth the price. And so the search for a daytime face serum continues.

Step 2: Moisturize

After the serum I follow it up with a face oil. I know it’s summer, but I have really dry skin around my cheeks and the air conditioning at work only makes my skin more dehydrated. I have always been very sceptic about using a face oil, especially after dealing with massive nodular acne for years. Anyways, I picked up the small bottle of  Fresh Seaberry Moisturing Face Oil the from the check out aisle at Sephora (an impulse buy).

The claim

“A soothing face oil packed with restorative omegas and seabuckthorn oil to preserve a youthful appearance.”

My experience

I love!!! Even though it is an oil, it is not oily. It absorbs into the skin so quickly. I use it everyday in the morning under by makeup and I absolutely love it. It has a soft citrusy smell, not too overwhelming. I use two – three drops on my fingers and gently rub/tap it on my face. I concentrate mostly on drier areas and use it sparingly on my t-zone. I am still scared to put it on my oily nose. haha 😛

A little product goes a long way. I got the 0.5oz bottle two months ago and its still got a lot of product left. I am absolutely going to repurchase this one. The 0.5oz is for 22$ and the 1.6oz is 59$. Worth the money!! I also think its helped me a lot with the dry patches on my skin. And surprisingly it doesn’t make my t-zone more oily than it would normally get. Another great thing is that it makes the application of liquid foundation so much smother. The foundation just glides on, when I apply it with my fingers. Overall great product. This was the first face oil I have ever tried and I am so glad for this impulse buy 🙂

Summer Skincare

Step 3: Sunscreen

The final step before I start my make up is to protect from the sun, and so a sunscreen. These days I am using the Shiseido wet force ultimate sun protection cream broad spectrum SPF50+ for face.

The Claim

“An innovative protective sunscreen for the face that becomes more effective when it comes into contact with water, delivering the best coverage under the sun for healthy-looking, beautiful skin. ”

My experience

I like that it has a good SPF. This sunscreen will not feel too heavy on the skin and wouldn’t leave skin oily. Also it provides excellent protection. I always use it when I go for a run and it provides protection even when I sweat. So I like that about it. However it leaves a white cast!!! I want to love this product but the white cast is so definite. Not impressed. When I use this during my runs, it leaves me with huge white spots around my forehead i.e. the areas I am sweating. This product only works well under makeup and if your not going to sweat much. I would say a good winter time sunscreen!! But for the summer, lets opt for a different one.

So there you go, that is my morning skin care routine. YAY!! summer is here!! is anyone else excited for summer. 🙂 Thanks for reading ❤

One thought on “Summer Morning Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

