Winter Night Skin Care Routine

I am a big believer in taking good care of the skin. I have been following a very detailed skin care routine since I was a teenager and battled acne. That habit still continues and I can honestly say that it makes a huge difference. Through the years I have experimented with various products and even though the routine is constantly evolving, I am sharing my current winter night time routine today. I am quite happy with this routine and I think it really helps keep my skin moisturized during the colder months.

    1. Cleansing
      I clean my face in two steps. The first step is to use a eye makeup remover and wipe it off with a makeup removing wipe. I then wipe my entire face with the wipe to get rid of all the makeup.
      I follow this by washing my face with a face wash.
      Some of my favorite makeup wipes are
      Simple
      Neutrogena Naturals – I love the way they smell and take off all my makeup.
      Eye Makeup remover
      Makeup forever – Gets rid of all the eye makeup, even water proof  liners and mascaras in one go.
      Neutrogena –  A good drug store purchase which is gentle on the eyes and does the job well.
      Facewash
      Olay Brightening Creme Cleanser –  My current go to cleaner is this one. It is creamy and has small particles to help gently exfoliate
      Philosophy  Purity Made Simple face wash – I have used this one for years and it gives an amazing clean feeling to the skin without making my dry skin, too dry.
    2. Toning 
      This step I only started recently. I have learnt that using a toner helps restore the pH of the skin and hence it is an essential step. I use rose water as a toner, which I spray all over the face and neck. I love the way it smells.
    3. Eye Cream
      We all know how important it is to use an eye cream. Doesn’t matter what age you are, I would recommend making it a part of your everyday skincare. It is essential to apply the eye cream correctly. Apply a small amount of the cream on the orbital bone with your ring finger in a gentle patting motion. Then gently massage the cream in circular motion using the same finger. Remember the skin around the eye is very thin and delicate so don’t put too much pressure or pull the skin too hard.
      Some of my go to eye creams are
      Clinique All about eyes rich – This is very hydrating and I go back to it everytime, especially during the winters
      Estee Lauder advance night repair – This is another favourite of mine, more on the expensive side, but I do feel like it’s worth the money. My under eye area looks brighter and well rested in the morning.
      Garnier Ultra Lift Miracle Sleeping Cream – This is a more recent eye cream that I have started using. It is a gel like formula but it isn’t as hydrating as the clinique all about eyes rich. I do think it is good for anti-aging and a good drugstore pick. 
    4. Face Oil
      I am a huge fan of face oils.  I believe they should be a part of your life, especially if you have dry skin. I have noticed such a huge difference in my skin since I started using face oils. My skin is much more supple, hydrated and smooth.
      Some of my go to products are:
      Josie Maran Argan Oil – My all time favourite face oil. I can’t live without this one. More about it here
      Fresh Seaberry Moisturing Face Oil –  I really like this one if your just starting to use face oils. More about it can be found here
      Caudalie Premier Cru Elixir 
      Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum in Oil – Full review can be found here
    5. Serum
      I usually mix two drops of the face oil with two drops of serum on my fingers and then put it on my skin. I also love using products that combine serum and face oil like the Caudalie Premier Cru Elixir  or Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum in Oil…. just saves a step.  Some of my favourites are
      Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair – This has been my favourite for years. It keeps skin so youthful and glowing. Skin looks well rested when I wake up in the morning. It is quite expensive but I feel like it is a great investment.
      Ole Henriksen Truth Serum® Vitamin C Collagen Booster – I am a huge vitamin C fan, for it’s brightening properties on the skin. I truely feel like this serum has done wonders for my skin.
    6. Moisturiser
      The final step to my night time routine is a moisturizer.
      Some of my go to products for the winter are
      Origins – High Potency Night-A-Mins™ Mineral-Enriched Renewal Cream – I got a sample of this product using the 100 points perk from Sephora  and I have been really enjoying the product. I am going to get the full size for the winter. It is very hydrating without being greasy(even though I don’t mind being greasy for bed) and I like the way it smells.
      GLAMGLOW THIRSTYMUD™ Hydrating Treatment – The blue glam glow mask, has a delicious coconut smell, which I love. Even though it is a mask, I use it as a moisturizer, for days when I feel like my skin needs extra help.

      Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream
      –  I like that it is very moisturizing and skin feels great in the morning. Vitamin E has so many benefits. It is one of the best antioxidants that help protect the skin against damaging environmental elements.

Thanks for reading this long post. Hope you enjoyed and got a few tips on preparing your skin for the winter months ahead.

Thanks for reading loves 🙂

Please follow my blog and give this post a thumbs up it your like it. Also follow me on my social media: InstagramFacebook and Twitter for more fun stuff

5 thoughts on “Winter Night Skin Care Routine

  1. Jasmine S. says:

    Great products! I love that you’ve combined high end products with drugstore products! I do the same thing. It’s taken a while to find the best combination for me, but I can never give up my Neutrogena face wash! AmorePacific has become my new favorite line to try!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

