The Balm – Meet Matte Hughes

Today is a review post of The Balm’s Meet Matte Hughes liquid lipsticks.

They have the cutest names, don’t you think?

The Claim  

“This long-wearing formula has a comfortable matte finish with no commitment issues. These matte vanilla mint liquid lipsticks are stuck on you without feeling clingy!”

They retail for 17USD at thebalm.com

My Experience

Pros

They are by far one of the most comfortable liquid lipsticks I own. I don’t feel them sucking the life out of my lips.

They smell amazing, like mint and chocolate somewhat like After 8 chocolates. I just sat on my desk smelling it for a good 5 mins while writing this post. 😛

They are very long lasting like most liquid lipstick formulas and don’t crumble. They stay looking beautiful for hours and then some more.  They also give a very smooth and opaque application and don’t come off as patchy.  Another wonderful thing I like is that they don’t rub off from the inner side of the lips and so no “butthole” lips. Lol!!

They dry quickly on the lips and you don’t have to wait for an eternity before they dry 😛 haha!!! After they did dry I did see a little bit of transferring but I can deal with that because it is by far one of my favourite liquid lipstick formula in the market. My two other favourites are Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick (full review here) and Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick (full review here)

 

Story Time:

I decided to check if this lipstick will come off without using a makeup remover so I decided to wash my face at the end of the day with just my face wash and water and guess what, it wouldn’t budge. So while I was exfoliating my face I decided to rub some of the exfoilant on my lips and I wasn’t able to remove the liquid lipstick. I only partially managed to remove it. It still had tonnes of colour. So if your trying to remove this off your lips make sure to use a makeup remover or oil because this wouldn’t come off with just water and soap.

Me wearing the shade loyal

  
Cons

The only thing I don’t like is the color selection there are 8 colours to pick from, I wish they had more shades to choose from. I purchased mine in the shade loyal which is a beautiful deep red colour. It is a warm tone red

In Canada you can get balm cosmetics at Rexall and these retail for 25CAD. I think that is pricey.  It is almost the same price as the Kat Von D everlasting liquid lipsticks which retail for 24CAD.

Overall 

They absolutely live upto the claim and I am in love with these. I am going back to grab some more colours for sure. I am eyeing charming (rich mauve) and commited (pinky nude).  Highly recommend you give these a try.

Feel free to check out the review of two of my other favourite liquid lipstick formulas

Kat Von D (here) and Stila (here)

Update:

So I bought the shade committed  as well. Here is the swatch. I love the shade. It is a beautiful everyday shade for me

  
___________________________________________________________
This is not a sponsored post. All pictures are taken by me. Please let me know and tag me if your using these pictures.

Please follow my blog and give this post a thumbs up if your like it. Also follow me on my social media: InstagramFacebook and Twitter for more fun stuff

 

3 thoughts on “The Balm – Meet Matte Hughes

Leave a Reply

