Kate Somerville EradiKate vs Calamine Lotion

For the last two months I have been struggle with a lot of acne and small bumps on my face. I am not sure what caused it, I was trying a lot of different products or maybe it is just hormones, hard to tell. I started like most people with some Acne (salicylic and benzoyl peroxide) Gels from the drugstore, like that by Neutrogena or Clean and Clear. I don’t think they do anything for my skin, I also made sure I regularly removed my makeup, went back to my staples and also tried clay masks to clear out my skin.

When non of these helped I decided to invest in the Kate Somerville Eradicate spot treatment. It is very highly rated for treating acne spots and I had very high hopes. Here is what I thought of the product:

Kate Somerville EradiKate - ReviewFacts

It retails for 26$ and you can get it from Nordstrom,  Sephora or KateSomerville.com. One bottle of EradiKate give you 30ml of product, which will last a long time. I used a cotton swab, dip it in the solution and then dotted it onto the trouble spots.

The Claim

Kate’s bestselling EradiKate™ Acne Treatment is specifically formulated with the highest level of sulfur allowed to effectively heal blemishes, reduce acne, and help keep skin free of new breakouts. AHAs are designed to reduce the appearance of enlarged pores while zinc oxide, a natural mineral, provides oil control by absorbing excess sebum production. The result is clear skin that lasts.

My Experience

I made sure I used a fresh swab everytime (no double dipping). Also I never shaked the bottle before apply it (because that is what it says on the bottle and I notice that the liquid on top is clear where as the lower part is more pink). Still unsure if we should use the pinkish liquid or the clearer one. Well I tried it both ways.

The first thing you notice is a strong smell. Definitely a product to only wear at night. I also waited a bit for it to dry out after applying it because I don’t want to get all over my pillow. Also an important thing to note is to apply this product to un-poped zits since it stings a lot on poped zits which are not like a bruise and its best to not use this on them.

I saw a reduction in the size of the pimples when I woke up in the morning, but by evening after a whole work day, they looked the same. I will geek out a bit: If my zit is at a 100% at night, this solution will bring it out to 50% or even 30% but during the day the zit grows back to 80-90% and then the process repeats. Its quite frustrating.

Overall I think its a good product for the occasional one or two pimples/acne, as an emergency weapon when you might get a zit before a big event. But not that great if your skin is just acting funny. I liked the product but it isn’t helping with preventing me from getting new zits or even completely drying out the existing ones.  So I kept looking for alternate solutions……

Calamine Lotion for Acne

The Alternate – Calamine Lotion 

I am so excited to share with you the alternate. After Eradikate failed to live up to my expectations I decided to get Calamine lotion from the drugstore.

Calamine Lotion Facts:

A huge bottle retails for around 250ml retails for under 10$. A much better price compared to EradiKate. Calamine lotion is know for it’s mild properties that are able to sooth and protect the skin. It is know to relieve itchiness and pain caused by  acne, insect bits and plant infections like that by poison ivy. It is gentle enough to be used on dry skin.

I apply it the same way as I use EradiKate. Use a cotton swab dipped in calamine lotion and apply liberally over the acne spots. I let it sit for 5-10 mins before sleeping with it over night.

My Experience

I have been using it everynight, consistently and every morning I notice a visible reduction in the size and number of acne spots. Over the past month I have also noticed a reductions in the number of new spots. I have been battling  acne for 2 months now, and it’s only the last two weeks have I found a combination (calamine lotion + Caudalie detox oil) that I think might be working for me.

Overall/Winner

I am happy to say that for me, Calamine Lotion is the winner. I have seen a clear difference and the price point makes it clear winner in my eyes. Let me know what you use to combat acne and if you have tried any of these products.

________________________________________________________________

This is not a sponsored post. I purchased all the products, all opinions are my own. All pictures are taken by me unless otherwise stated. Please let me know if you use these pictures.

Please follow my blog and give this post a thumbs up if your like it. Also follow me on my social media: InstagramFacebook and Twitter for more fun stuff

 

2 thoughts on “Kate Somerville EradiKate vs Calamine Lotion

Leave a Reply

