Dior Star Foundation yay or nay?

Dior Star Foundation

For all my makeup wearing life I have been into light to medium coverage foundations. But recently I wanted to experiment with a more full coverage foundation because I got a few breakouts.  My top picks were the Dior star and Marc Jacobs remarkable foundation. I got a sample of the Marc Jacobs foundation from Sephora but wasn’t impressed. It really seattled into my smile lines and around my nose. It looked too cakey on me and so I chose the Dior foundation.

I had heard a lot of good things about this foundation.

The claim 

“A lightweight foundation with Broad Spectrum SPF 30 that brightens, evens skin tone, and reduces the appearance of dark spots. I

Inspired by the professional illuminating techniques and expertise of its makeup artists, Dior offers its first brightening foundation. This weightless fluid makeup is capable of recreating the spectacular and perfecting light of Dior’s studios. Infused with hollow silica beads that capture and diffuse light in a correcting halo that doesn’t leave skin looking shiny, the color-filter pigments neutralize skin tone imbalances, and the anti-“light-trap” skin care ingredients help reduce the appearance of dark areas, pigment spots, and redness.”

It retails for 50USD or 62-66CAD. It can be purchased from Shoppers Drug Mart, Norsdrom or the Bay since Sephora Canada doesn’t carry it (atleast online)


My experience 

I have more normal to dry skin these days! More on the drier side. And I use this foundation mostly for day events or even on a daily basis these days since like I mentioned I have broken out! It gives good coverage and hides my acne and spots. It has very buildable coverage and it can sheered out when applied with a beauty blender.

I love using a foundation brush to apply this foundation, that is by far my favourite way to use it. My least favourite is using my fingers. I use two pumps for my entire face so I know it will last me a long time

It has a smell. When I first pump it out it has a very chemically smell which quickly fades away and changes to a very beautiful perfumed smell. I really like the perfumed smell.

It doesn’t break me out or feel heavy. It doesn’t even rub off on my phone when I am talking. It didn’t crease up on me whatsoever even when I didn’t set it with powder. And the best part is that it has an spf of 30. Which makes me it my go out for the summer. 

My sephora colour IQ in around 2y07 and in Dior I am in the shade 031 Sand

My other shades are :

Makeup Forever Ultra HD in Y365 (reviewed here)

L’oreal True Match Lumi in W4 (reviewed here)

Too Faced Born This Way in Sand

Chanel Perfection Lumiere in Beiges 50  (reviewed here)

Nars in Stromboli

Pros 

  • Lasts all day
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • High SPF
  • Medium – Full Coverage
  • Buildable
  • Light weight
  • Lumious/Dewy
  • Has a pump

Cons

  • Expensive

Overall
I really like this foundation. It is quickly becoming one of my favourites. It works really well for people with normal to dry skin. Gives a beautiful (not cakey) medium to full coverage, more on the full coverage side.

For people with Oily skin, I have heard mixed reviews so I would recommend trying it on before making the purchase.

________________________________________________________________

This is not a sponsored post. I purchased all the products, all opinions are my own. All pictures are taken by me. Please let me know and tag me if your using these pictures.

Please follow my blog and give this post a thumbs up if your like it. Also follow me on my social media: Instagram, Facebook and Twitter for more fun stuff

4 thoughts on “Dior Star Foundation yay or nay?

Leave a Reply

